In the quiet as I lay, feeling myself from within, searching parts of myself that have been long dead, tracing consciousness through my nervous system, finding feelings long buried, feelings that were crushed, suffocated and damaged. From my mind’s eye through the vagus nerve down to the solar plexus. I breathe. Seeking and groping in the darkness. And for one fleeting moment I find her, that part of myself that is as ancient as the earth itself.

I recall all the lives I lived, from the first pool of bacteria to the creature I am today. All these memories lie hidden in my body, dormant, until I unlock the stories.

But the story of the mother, my mother, her mother, her mother’s mother and so on, has been hidden in the dark. While others walk with ease, I walk without knowing, as if my ancestors never had a childhood, never had a chance to live with peace in their hearts and run free, or ever know what true freedom was. From the day man knew how life was created, woman was controlled. His need was great, his greed even greater and his seed was spread. The mother was forced into submission so man would know it was his child in her. Her body was restricted, covered, chained, tied, locked up in vows and ties. So man would believe he knows.

But now the waves of time are changing, the world is reaching a new age of information, and as we take to the stars, the mother will be free again. Our path has lead us here and with new found knowledge comes responsibility and change.

What kind of brave new world shall we create.

